Armstrong

MEET THE TEAM

Alana

ALANA

Describe what you do here: Owner/Bill Payer/Boss Babe/ Mess Maker and Dream Inspirer

Previous Job: 25+ years in retail & retail management, a wardrobe stylist and personal shopper, house painter and a teacher.

Favourite Flower: Peony & Protea

Ideal Saturday Night: My dog, cat, hubby and I snuggled up on the couch with popcorn and a glass of wine.

I Can't Live Without: A hot bath and a glass of wine at the end of a long day.

Dreams and Goals: To inspire other boss babes. To travel. To one day create enough art work to have my own show.

“Love Hard, Live Fearless”

Bev

BEV

Describe what you do here: I do the Shoppe’s deliveries and errands

Previous Job: Teaching Alana everything she knows about being an entrepreneur. Our family owned and operated a marina at Mabel Lake

Favourite Flower: Roses

On days off you will find me: Out for breakfast or lunch with friends. I also love spending time at mabel lake with family and friends.

Favourite Food: Carrot cake with cream cheese icing

Skills or talents that people don’t know about: I am extremely organized and love my daily routine. I am also quite ambidextrous.

“I don’t care to live a long life, just a healthy life”

dawn

DAWN

Describe what you do here: Manager

Previous Job: Spent 5 years with my “boss babies” earning my Masters and PhD in patience, snack making, boo-boo kissing and empathy teaching while simultaneously growing a social marketing business that grew skills, desires and passions in me that led me right to Armstrong Flower and Gift Shoppe.

Favourite Flower: Blush roses and Seeded Eucalyptus

Ideal Saturday Night: A glass of red wine, a hot tub, reruns of the office and the luxury of my children sleeping through the night.

I can’t live without: To do lists

Life Goal: To help women discover how to find success on their own terms, live according to what lights their soul on fire and grow into who they were created to be.

“At the end of my life I want to roll into heaven a hot mess, mascara running down my face, hair askew and be able to say “that’s it, I have nothing left. I used everything you gave me””

Kelli

KELLI

Describe what you do here: Jill of all trades. I keep things running behind the scenes – I choose and purchase our blooms each week and even do our book keeping BUT that doesn’t mean you won’t also see me designing your arrangements!

Previous Job: I owned the shoppe from 2009 – 2016

Favourite Flower: Orange Lily

On days off you will find me: Camping, walking, knitting and spending time with my family

I can’t live without: My family

Dream: That the world becomes a safer, more peaceful place for my children and grandchildren to thrive in.

“What you are not changing you are choosing”

Sarah

SARAH

Describe what you do here: Flower slinger and customer greeter

Previous Job: I've been seen making swans in your cappuccinos, also a certified hair stylist.

Favourite Flower: Billy balls, Protea, Fever Few, Peonies, Garden roses

Ideal Saturday Night: Going to a local theater or music show, playing Dungeons and Dragons, rescuing a dog or two, maybe swiping up your dad's old sweaters for $2.99 at the local thrift store

Fav Podcasts / Books: My Brother My Brother and Me, Welcome to Nightvale - Podcasts I also am currently reading The Complete Works of Oscar Wilde and enjoying it very much

Hidden skills or talents: -Basic hula hoop tricks (it's cooler than it sounds...I think),
-Never spending more than $15 on one article of clothing

"Death is only the end if you assume the story is about yourself"

Susan

SUSAN

Describe what you do here: Senior Floral Designer

Previous Job: I began my career at Riddell Flowers for 5 years, then moved to Woodwards flower shop for 10 years. Following that I spent 10 years home with my babies and then joined the team at Armstrong Flowers 22 years ago.

Favourite Flower: Gerbera Daisies and Green Hydrangea

Ideal Saturday Night: A movie and a big bowl of popcorn

On days off you will find me: crafting, enjoying lunch with a friend, doing housework and gardening.

Dreams and Goals: I have enjoyed all my years as a designer but I am looking forward to retiring soon, spending more time with my family and camping with my hubby.

“Life is a gift, enjoy it to its fullest”